常见问题

希望FAQ(常见问题)部分可以解答您的问题。如果您还有更多问题,请查阅我们特别创建的防病毒专业术语表

1. 防病毒软件会降低系统的速度吗?

软件需要一定的运算能力来执行其功能,影响任何一款防病毒软件都需要消耗一定的RAM和CPU资源。关于防病毒软件明显降低了计算机的运行速度这一问题,得益于现代计算机性能的增强,和过去的测试相比其结果明显不同。我们对有关RAM和CPU消耗而进行的基准测试中,发现即便是最彻底的扫描也不会对上述两种资源造成明显的影响。事实上,我们目前已经测试过的方案中还没有任何一款会对系统性能产生明显的影响。

2. 我需要防范的主要威胁是什么?

不幸的是,如今网络安全的威胁可以数字世界也可以来自真实的世界。事实上,似乎每年都会产生一种新型的攻击模式。但仍然可以将这些威胁归纳划分为几个大类,同时建议用户选择一款合适的防病毒解决方案,尽可能的获得安全保护。

当前用户面临的主要威胁是:

  • Macro Viruses(宏病毒):这是一种常见的基于文件的病毒,可以感染数据文件。几乎所有的防病毒软件都可以预防这种威胁。如果您还在使用桌面端的电子邮件,那么您应该了解的是,通过电子邮件的附件传染是最常见的攻击方式。选择一款具有附加扫描功能的品牌,比如Norton
  • Boot Sector Viruses(引导扇区病毒):这种复杂的病毒主要感染计算机引导顺序的固件,尤其是MBR/BIOS或更先进的UEFI/EFI基础结构。查看我们测评中“引导扫描”或“MBR扫描”的相关内容,了解此重要组件的功能。
  • Malware(恶意程序):这是一种非常广泛存在的恶意软件,可以对计算机主机系统造成损害。恶意程序包括了:病毒、木马程序、蠕虫病毒、广告程序、以及间谍程序。
  • Ransomware(勒索软件):一种高级的恶意程序,近年发展迅速,勒索病毒的意图是通过控制受害者的系统或隐私文件的访问权限,敲诈受害者支付赎金以获得利益。支付方式通常会选择加密货币的形式,比如Bitcoin(比特币)。
  • Rootkit:另一种常见的恶意程序,rootkit被设计成不断的获取更高的控制权限以掌控计算机。通常会隐藏在计算机常见的程序中,需要专门的程序进行检测和隔离。

还有一些可以远程控制的程序,如键盘记录程序、社交工程漏洞,如中间人攻击,以及简单的钓鱼攻击,但上文所提到的是目前计算机用户面临的最主要的攻击手段和形式。

3. 仅使用一款防病毒软件足够安全吗?我还需要哪些安全措施?

对于这个问题,我们会毫不犹豫的给予“否定”的回答。根据上面列表中所展示的网络安全问题,现代用户显然需要更加复杂的安全产品,才能得到多层次的安全保护。

我们提出以下几点建议:

  • 具有强大的防病毒功能的组件程序。选择一款通过独立测试实验室验证并通过的防病毒程序。尽管我们也测试过很多不知名的产品,并提供了非常出色的保护,但其中还是少见像NortonAVG这样的著名品牌,可以在测试中长期名列前茅。
  • 包含网络安全功能的产品。这种典型的工具程序比如用户访问具有钓鱼URL网址的时候提供安全保护的安全浏览器可以,当连接到不安全节点时对流量进行加密的VPN服务,以及文件删除程序,可以确保当前文件或文件夹从系统中干净安全的被删除掉
  • 部分防火墙管理工具程序Windows系统中将其作为预装的内置功能,但是可以采取一些更安全的保护措施,例如双向防火墙过滤功能。

事实上,您的安全方案具有越多的防护措施越好。我们也建议选择一款完善的解决方案,可以防御键盘记录程序、密码管理程序、提供摄像头和麦克风保护措施,以及家长控制管理功能。

4. 不同的品牌之间真的有差距吗?防病毒软件的基础不是一回事吗?

不,市场上不同名称的产品之间存在着非常明显的差异(这也是我们团队非常热衷于测评的原因所在!)。

举例说明:

  • 平台支持:许多防病毒软件软件支持每一款许可文件可以为一定数量的设备提供安全保护。这样的情况下,您需要确保所使用的所有平台都可以得到支持。如果您发现一款防病毒软件提供非常不错的Android应用程序,但是该程序是否可以为您孩子的iPad设备,提供同样出色的保护呢?
  • 功能:一些产品提供了非常不错的防病毒扫描功能,但其它功能不够,同时其它产品则可以提供具有网络安全保护方面更全面的功能。
  • 重点市场和使用场景:某些产品的主要领域是服务于企业市场,而主要的使用场景也是IT部门的集中式管理运营。其它以家用市场为目标的产品,则会为家庭多设备用户提供一定的优惠。还有一些产品会服务于某些特殊的领域如为物联网(IoT)设备提供安全保护。

5. 我可以使用多款防病毒软件吗?

虽然安装第二款防病毒软件有时并不会出现系统错误提示,但在大多数情况下,事情并不会按照预想的方向发展,其中一款程序可能会要求您卸载另外一款。同时运行两款防病毒软件有可能导致诸多问题,并造成系统资源的影响,甚至有可能在扫描进行、隔离区域、以及其它组件功能。

例外的情况是,两款网络安全产品分别应对不同类型的威胁(一款用于扫描病毒,而另一款用于检测rootkit病毒)。

我推荐仅使用一款防病毒软件的另一原因是,可以利用尽可能多的组件提供防护保护。

6. 我刚安装了Linux系统的Ubuntu版本。请问有哪些防病毒软件适合该操作系统使用?

欢迎您来到激动人心的Linux世界!以往只能通过命令行的方式配置ClamAV扫描规则,现如今Linux用户有了更多的选择,可以选择适合自己的防病毒软件(需要注意的是,选择相比较于Windows和MacOS数量仍有限),而Ubuntu是市场上Linux系统中最受支持的发行版本。

我们建议您阅读这篇指南有关七款完全免费的Linux防病毒软件,其中涉及到诸多著名的品牌如Comodo和Sophos。如果您确实更喜欢使用命令行的方式,ClamAV当然是不错的选择,同时多款付费消费级和企业级的工具软件也提供对Linux的支持。

7. 电脑病毒仍然是重大威胁吗?

确实如此,现如今病毒所造成的威胁大不如从前,但这主要归功于操作系统日趋完善的安全性以及防病毒软件更强的检测保护功能。

尤其是基于人工智能的工具程序,包括基于行为和启发式检测的算法,让防病毒软件可以有效的预防并防御未出现的威胁漏洞(也被称为“零日”攻击)。但与此同时,近年来针对攻击对象的行为在复杂程度和数量上都有所增长,甚至高级的系统也会成为目标。这其中非人类操作的组件程序(例如物联网设备),就会成为入侵本地网络的缺口。

正是这些原因,我强烈建议每一款电脑、移动设备、笔记本电脑,都采取相应的安全保护措施。

8. 谁制造了电脑病毒?

计算机病毒可以渗透到很多方面,从单独的个人到政府机构(最好的例子是针对伊朗核设施的Stuxnet蠕虫病毒攻击)。而攻击的动机可以是经济牟利也可以是政治活动,或其它任何的目的。

9. 我可以不安装防病毒软件软件吗?

不管您之前有怎样的认知,事实是任何一款包括Linux和Android(其中也包含Linux的优化移动版本)在内的操作系统都容易被电脑病毒所感染。尽管Windows内置了防护工具软件并具有防火墙功能,但用户还是需要安装一款专门的防病毒解决方案。

大多数的防病毒软件都是具有多功能的程序,可以提供保护应对各种类型的网络安全问题,并会自动运行某些功能(比如访问网银网站时,启动VPN服务提供保护),保护用户的安全。一些浏览器具有内置的防钓鱼保护功能,但大多数情况下,都没有提供通过专业的角度对比这些软件。

选择一款合适的防病毒软件,这是保护您电脑健康和隐私最小成本的投资方式。

10. 我需要为我们公司选购防病毒软件,公司雇员数量超过百人。我需要逐一购买许可吗?

企业级的防病毒软件主要设计为数量规模庞大的企业用户,且具有不错的管理员功能,例如基础代码更新管理、以及批量管理工具等。许多不错的软件在这些方面表现尤其突出。

了解更多信息,欢迎联系我们

FAQ

Hopefully, these FAQs will answer your questions. But, if not, please see our specially-created glossary of antivirus terms.

1. Will an antivirus slow down my system?

Software requires a certain amount of processing power to carry outs its functions, so all antivirus programs will consume some RAM and CPU resources. Concerns about antiviruses significantly slowing down your system stem from the idea that modern computers suffer the same limitations as older, significantly less powerful models of the past. We frequently benchmark RAM and CPU overheads during our testing process and find that even the most thorough scans consume negligible amounts of both resources. In fact, we have yet to review a solution that caused a noticeable impact on performance.

2. What are the main threats I need to protect against?

Unfortunately, today’s cybersecurity threats come from both the digital and physical world. In fact, a new attack vector seems to be discovered every year. It’s still possible to condense those threats into major categories, however, and we advise selecting an antivirus solution that offers protection against as many of these as possible.

The most significant threats facing users at the moment are:

  • Macro Viruses: These are common file-based viruses that infect data files. Virtually all antiviruses protect against these. If you’re still using desktop email, you should know that virus-laden attachments are an important attack vector. Choose a provider that includes attachment scanning, such as Norton.
  • Boot Sector Viruses: These sophisticated viruses infect the firmware that handles a computer’s boot sequence—typically either MBR/BIOS or the more modern UEFI/EFI infrastructure. Look for mentions of “boot scanning” or “MBR scanning” in our reviews to know that the product features this important component.
  • Malware: This is a broad category of malicious software that is written to infect and harm the host system. Malware includes viruses, trojans, worms, adware, and spyware.
  • Ransomware: A type of advanced malware that is rising in significance, ransomware extorts users to pay a sum of money in order to regain control over their operating system/private files. Payment to the cybercriminal is typically made with an untraceable cryptocurrency such as Bitcoin.
  • Rootkit: Another type of malware, rootkits are designed to provide continued elevated-privilege access to the host computer. They are usually also able to hide from common program listing utilities, so they require a special program to identify and quarantine.

There are also remote-operated keyloggers, social engineering exploits like man-in-the-middle attacks, and simple phishing scams—but the above are the main threats facing today’s computer users.

3. Is an antivirus enough? What other types of protection might I need?

We would respond to this question with a resounding “no.” Given the partial list of cybersecurity threats we listed above, it’s clear that modern users need sophisticated cybersecurity programs that offer protection across multiple levels.

In particular, we recommend:

  • A program with a strong antivirus component. Select a program that has been tested and certified by an independent virus testing laboratory. Although we have reviewed many lesser-known providers that provide outstanding protection, it’s hard to go wrong with household names such as Norton and AVG — both of which frequently score top marks on these tests.
  • A product that includes internet security features. These typically include tools such as secure browsers that will prevent access to known phishing URLs, VPNs to encrypt traffic when surfing from unsecured connection points, and file shredders that make sure that deleted directories have really been removed from the filesystem.
  • Some firewall management tool. Windows does have a built-in tool for this, but some additional protection—such as two0way firewall filtering—is advisable.

In fact, the more levels of protection your solution features, the better. We also recommend choosing a solution with a keylogger blocker, password manager, webcam/microphone protection, and parental control filters.

4. Is there really a difference between providers? Aren’t antiviruses basically the same thing?

No. These are significant differences between the titles on the market (which is why our team enjoys reviewing them so much!).

For instance:

  • Platforms supported: Many antiviruses protect a number of devices with each license. If that’s the case, you’ll want to make sure that the platforms you use are all supported. You’ve found an antivirus with a great Android app, but do they also offer a program that will work with your son’s iPad?
  • Features: Some products offer an excellent virus scanner but not much else, while others provide a multi-faceted feature with a variety of internet security tools.
  • Focus market and use-case: Some products are targeted specifically at the enterprise market and are designed to be administered centrally by an IT team. Others are family-oriented and offer competitively-priced deals for multi-device households. Some are even specifically designed to protect internet of things (IoT) devices.

5. Can I use multiple antiviruses?

While a second antivirus can be installed over an existing one without throwing a system error in some cases, in most instances, this will not be so; one program will ask you to uninstall the other. Running two antiviruses simultaneously creates overlapping system resources and runs the risk that either program will mistakenly label the other’s scanning process, quarantine areas, and other components as threats.

The exception to this rule would be two running two cybersecurity products that each scan for different types of threat (one scanning for viruses, for example, and the other only looking for rootkits).

This is another reason why we recommend selecting a single product that provides protection against as many components as possible.

6. I have just installed Ubuntu, a type of Linux. Are there antivirus options for this operating system?

Welcome to the exciting world of Linux! The old days of fumbling around a terminal trying to configure a ClamAV scan are thankfully behind us. Nowadays, Linux users have a decent selection of antiviruses from which to choose (although we should note, the choice is still far more limited than Windows and MacOS), and Ubuntu is typically the most widely supported Linux operating system on the market.

We’d recommend that you check out our guide to seven completely free Linux antiviruses—which includes some major names such as Comodo and Sophos. If you do like the command line, ClamAV is a good tool to start with, and many paid consumer and enterprise tools also support Linux variants.

7. Are viruses still a significant threat?

Yes. Although it is fair to say that viruses are less of a menace than they used to be, this is due to operating system security and huge advances in antivirus programs’ threat detection abilities.

In particular, machine-learning based tools, including behavior-based and heuristic detection algorithms, have made it possible for these programs to identify and protect against threats that haven’t even been formally identified yet (so-called “zero-day” attacks). In addition, both the sophistication and number of attack vectors facing users have grown in recent years to include firmware viruses that target even advanced systems. This now includes non-human operated computers (like IoT devices) that could be exploited as entry points to local networks.

For that reason, we recommend that every computer—mobile or desktop—run some form of protection.

8. Who makes viruses?

Computer viruses can be the work of many actors, ranging from individual hackers to governments (the best example being the Stuxnet worm that targeted an Iranian nuclear facility). Motivations can range from financial gain to political activism and everything in between.

9. Can I get by without an antivirus?

Despite what you may have heard, every major class of operating system—including both Linux and Android (which is a mobile-optimized Linux fork)—is susceptible to viruses.  And although Windows includes a built-in tool to conduct basic scanning and firewall management, users should install a dedicated solution.

Most antiviruses are multi-faceted programs that provide protection against a wide variety of cybersecurity threats—and come with clever built-in automation (like turning on a VPN when an online banking website is accessed) designed to keep their users safe. Some browsers include built-in phishing protection, but in most cases, these don’t compare to software offered by professionals.

Use an antivirus—it’s a small investment in your privacy and the health of your computer.

10. I need to provide antivirus software for my entire office with over 100 employees. Do I need to buy licenses one by one?

Enterprise-grade antiviruses are specifically designed to manage large-scale deployments and typically feature administrator-friendly features, such as script-based update managers and bulk provisioning tools. Many excellent software tools cater specifically to this need.

For more information, feel free to contact us.