مراجعة Norton Antivirus 2019 –
ما لن يخبروك به

اريك سي
اريك سيمؤلف نصوص إعلانية حول الأمن السيبراني والتكنولوجيا المالية والعملات المشفرة
رأينا:

سيمانتيك نورتون هو الأب الحقيقي لعالم مضادات الفيروسات، ولا يزال يستحق وضعه في أعلى القائمة. وتستفيد Norton Security من قوة عملاء الشركة أنفسهم في التغلب على الهجمات الفجائية "يوم الصفر"، كما وتملك الأدوات دعم عملاء وسهولة استخدام رائعان حقاً.

Write Review on Norton

0.0/ 5.0

يرجى إدخال عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني لتقديم مراجعتك

مراجعة احترافية مفصلة

اريك سي
اريك سيمؤلف نصوص إعلانية حول الأمن السيبراني والتكنولوجيا المالية والعملات المشفرة

أصبحت مجموعة أدوات إزالة الفيروسات من نورتون معروفة جداً، وبالنسبة للكثيرين، تعتبر بديلة عن برامج مكافحة الفيروسات نفسها. ولأجل هذه المراجعة، اخترت استعراض منتجات Norton Security الثلاثة (القياسي والديلوكس والبريميوم) من أجل تقييم مدى تطور الأدوات منذ آخر مرة اختربها.

على الرغم من أنها جميع الأدوات رائعة، إلا أنني أوصي بشدة باستخدام Norton Security Premium لمزيج من أمان الإنترنت وأدوات النسخ الاحتياطي على السحابة التخزينية التي يمكن أن توفر لك راحة البال عبر حماية ما يصل إلى 10 أجهزة كمبيوتر أو أجهزة Mac أو هواتف ذكية أو أجهزة لوحية بشكل كامل ضد أي تهديد قد يظهر.

الحماية

نورتون هي واحدة من الشركات الرائدة في العالم عندما يتعلق الأمر بالحفاظ على قاعدة بيانات نشطة وشاملة بتهديدات الأمن السيبراني لاختبار ومحاربة الهجمات والفيروسات، ومن ناحية أخرى، إن الشركة تنتج حلول أمان للكمبيوتر منذ أكثر من ثلاثين سنة. وبعض من أجمل الميزات الحديثة للأدوات تشمل ما يلي:

الحماية الاستباقية ضد الفيروسات (PEP)

نورتون PEP هو إطار عمل مصمم لحماية أجهزة الكمبيوتر التي تعمل بنظام ويندوز ضد الهجمات الفجائية "يوم الصفر" وتستهدف هذه الهجمات نقاط الضعف في برامج ويندوز - بالإضافة إلى نظام التشغيل نفسه - التي لم يتم تصحيحها بعد، مما يجعل الحاسوب أرضاً خصبة بشكل خاص للقراصنة.

نظراً إلى أن الهجمات الفجائية قد تستغرق خمسة أيام ليتمكن خبراء الأمن من التعامل معها، أنا أؤكد بشدة على أهمية تشغيل نظام محدث يمكن أن يُجنبك هذه الهجمات. وأنا أحب بشكل خاص حقيقة أن PEP يبدأ في توفير الحماية لحظة نشر البرامج الضعيفة (بدلاً من الانتظار لحين الكشف عن فيروس في نظام السحابة). وهذا يجعله متفوقاً على الكثير من المنافسين الذين اختبرنا برامجهم.

حماية SONAR

إضافة إلى الحماية الشاملة ضد هجمات يوم الصفر لدى نورتون، توفر الشركة الخاصية سونار.

تراقب SONAR عن كثب البرامج التي يتم تشغيلها في نظامك وتحدد مؤشرات للكشف عما إذا كانت البرامج ضارة، وذلك قبل أن يتم إنشاء تعريفات رسمية لتصنيف البرامج السيئة كفيروس.

لقد أعجبت بشكل خاص بحقيقة أن التطبيق يُظهر تلقائياً رسالة إذا تم تعطيله لفترة معينة من الوقت. ويُعد تعطيل الإجراءات الوقائية اللازمة عن طريق الخطأ أمراً كثير الحدوث ويسبب غياب الحماية الأساسية في البرنامج. وقد أسعدني أن أرى Norton يساعد المستخدمين على تحقيق أقصى استفادة ممكنة من أداته.

Symantec Norton Virus Assurance

عندما يتعلق الأمر ببرامج مكافحة الفيروسات، لا يتردد البائعون أبداً في الحديث عن ميزات منتجاتهم. ولهذا السبب من الرائع أن رؤية الشركة تتكبد العناء والمال لتقدم منتجاً مفيداً للمستخدمين!

يتضمن Virus Removal Assurance لدى نورتون كافة الميزات الموجودة في برنامج Norton Security. وكما يوحي الاسم، تقوم الشركة بإعادة أموالك، دون طرح أي أسئلة، في حال تعرض نظامك للخطر بسبب فيروس أثناء عمل نورتون. وما عليك سوى الانتباه إلى الرسالة الصغيرة: لتكون مؤهلاً للبرنامج، أنت بحاجة إلى شراء أو تجديد أو ترقية منتج Norton الخاص بك مباشرةً من Symantec وليس من طرف ثالث.

وهنا ضمان يمكنني الوثوق به بكل تأكيد: يحمي نورتون كلاً من حاسوبك ومحفظتك!

الجدار الناري الذكي ثنائي الاتجاه

يتضمن برنامج Norton Security جدار حماية مميز ثنائي الاتجاه. ولقد وجدت أنه يعمل بشكل رائع ومن المهم أن يمنع جدار الحماية كلاً من حركة المرور الواردة وحركة المرور الصادرة غير المصرح بها ضمن شبكتك المحلية — ويعمل Norton على حماية كلا اتجاهي الحركة. وبغض النظر عن حركة المرور غير الضارة الناتجة عن تصفحك للويب، يمكن أن تُولد حركة مرور صادرة عن طريق البرامج الضارة والجذور الخبيثة المتواجدة على جهازك ثم ترسل رسائل غير مرغوب فيها محرجة لجهات الاتصال لديك. وإذا سبق وتم إرسال رسائل غير مرغوب فيها تروِّج لمحتويات سيئة إلى الآلاف من جهات اتصال خاصة بالعمل، فستعرف حينها أن منع حدوث مثل هذا الموقف أمر يجب أن تضعه في قائمة أولوياتك.

الميزات

بما يتعلق بأمن الإنترنت والنسخ الاحتياطي، يوفر Norton أيضاً الكثير من الميزات القوية:

حماية التحميل الجماعي مع توفر خاصية المعاينة

تتميز منتجات Norton بأنها موثوقة من قبل المستخدمين في جميع أنحاء العالم لحماية أجهزتهم. وقد طورت الشركة تقنية تسمى "Insight" والتي تحسّن التجربة الجماعية لملايين المستخدمين للمساعدة في حماية الآخرين على الشبكة.

من خلال معرفة أي الملفات آمنة، يكون Norton قادر على تسريع عملية الفحص فقط عن طريق تحليل تلك الملفات التي يراها النظام مشكوك في أمرها.

أعجبتني الطريقة التي جعلت من خلالها نورتون عملية تعريف الفيروسات جماعية، وإن ميزة حماية التحميل وميزات فحص الملفات هي طرق اختارتها الشركة لتطبيق هذا المفهوم.

الحصول على آخر التحديثات باستخدام خاصية التحديث التلقائي

يمكن أن يكون تحديث برامج مكافحة الفيروسات - أو أي برامج حماية أخرى - عملاً روتينياً نهمله بسرعة بعد فترة من استخدام البرنامج.

يتميز Norton Security بأداة التحديث التلقائي التي تضمن حصول المستخدمين دائماً على أحدث إصدار من البرنامج. وبلفتة ذكية، اختارت Norton تمكين هذه الميزة بشكل افتراضي ضمن منتجاتها.

كنت أعمل على حاسوبي عندما بدأت عملية التحديث التلقائي، وأعجبت بسلاسة العملية. بحيث بعد تنزيل تعريفات الفيروسات الجديدة وتطبيقها، يمسح البرنامج الملفات القديمة مباشرة من سجل الملفات.

أبقِ أطفالك بعيداً عن المحتوى غير اللائق باستخدام Norton Family

تتضمن حزمة Norton Security Premium اشتراكات بخاصية Norton Family، وهو برنامج رقابة أبوية حائز على جوائز خاص بشركة نورتون.

على الرغم من أن سوق برامج الرقابة الأبوية يتضمن العديد من الشركات المتخصصة في إنتاج تلك البرامج فقط، إلا أن أداة Norton تعتبر واحدة من أفضل البرامج في السوق.

إلى جانب تضمين أدوات الفلترة لمنع أفراد العائلة من الوصول إلى فئات معينة من مواقع الويب، أو تلك التي تتم إضافتها إلى القائمة السوداء، يمكن للمشرفين أيضاً تحديد فترات بقاء المستخدمين على الإنترنت وتعيين جداول تحدد الوقت المسموح لهم فيه بتصفح الإنترنت.

يستطيع الآباء أيضاً إعداد تنبيهات عبر البريد الإلكتروني لتحذيرهم عندما يحاول أطفالهم الوصول إلى مواقع الويب المحظورة بالإضافة إلى ميزات الإشراف على شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي للتأكد من عدم قضاء الأطفال فترات طويلة من الوقت على الشبكات الاجتماعية مثل Facebook. وأعتقد أن تضمين أداة الرقابة الأبوية ضمن حزمة أمان الكمبيوتر فكرة رائعة، بحيث لا يمكن للمستخدمين الاطمئنان بأن حواسيبهم محمية من التهديدات على الإنترنت وحسب، بل أيضاً التأكد من أن أطفالهم لا يرون محتويات غير مناسبة.

النسخ الاحتياطي التلقائي من نورتون

يتضمن Norton Security أيضاً أداة تلقائية للنسخ الاحتياطي تعمل على نسخ الملفات احتياطياً تلقائياً إلى السحابة التخزينية الآمنة والمشفرة عندما يكون الكمبيوتر في وضع الخمول.

بينما يقوم البرنامج تلقائياً باكتشاف بعض الملفات للنسخ الاحتياطي بالاعتماد على التعرف النمطي، يستطيع المستخدمون أيضاً تحديد ملفاتهم ومجلداتهم الخاصة، وهي ميزة وجدتها مفيدة للغاية.

تقتصر مساحة التخزين الاحتياطي في السحابة على 25 غيغابايت. وعلى الرغم من أن هذا قد لا يكفي لتخزين مكتبة مليئة بالأفلام عالية الدقة، إلا أن هذه السعة تكفي وتزيد لتخزين المستندات الهامة بالإضافة إلى الأجزاء المهمة في نظامك.

حظر البريد غير المهم باستخدام حظر الرسائل غير المرغوب فيها

لقد أشرت من قبل إلى كيف يمنع برنامج جدار الحماية ثنائي الاتجاه لـ Norton برامج روتكيت وغيرها من الفيروسات المضمنة من إرسال البريد غير المرغوب فيه من نظامك.

تغطي شركة نورتون الطرف الآخر من المعادلة أيضاً.

تعمل ميزة حظر الرسائل غير المرغوب فيها على اكتشاف الرسائل غير المرغوب فيها ورفعها تلقائياً إلى برامج البريد الإلكتروني الخاصة بسطح المكتب. وكما يحذر البرنامج أيضاً المستخدمين من المرفقات التي قد تحتوي على فيروسات بالإضافة إلى عمليات الخداع الاحتيالية التي تم تصميمها لسرقة هويتك.

على الرغم من أن غالبية مستخدمي الكمبيوترات الحديثة يصلون إلى البريد الإلكتروني من خلال خدمات البريد مثل Gmail، إلا أن نسبة كبيرة من السكان ما زالت تستخدم برامج مثل Microsoft Outlook وMozilla Thunderbird لتبادل رسائل البريد الإلكتروني مع العالم. ولهذا السبب، إنها ميزة مهمة لم تفقد أهميتها ويسعدني أن أرى أن نورتون لا تزال تبذل مجهوداً للحفاظ عليها.

سهولة الاستخدام

يوفر برنامج Norton Security واجهة مستخدم رائعة ومصممة بشكل جيد تجعل التنقل بين قوائمه بديهياً وممتعاً.

على سبيل المثال، يعمل Norton Premium على توفير لوحة تحكم تضم خمسة أعمدة (الأمان والهوية والنسخ الاحتياطي والأداء، بالإضافة إلى علامة تبويب للميزات في الأعلى)، ويمكن للمستخدمين رؤية حالة أقسام البرنامج المختلفة بشكل مختصر وسريع.

وعلى سبيل المثال، لم أقم بإعداد خاصية النسخ الاحتياطي بعد إعداد البرنامج، ولكن لم يستغرق الأمر وقتاً طويلاً مني لملاحظة أن الميزة غير مفعلة، وذلك لأن هناك مربع - أسفل أيقونة السحابة - يظهر بوضوح أنها غير معدّة.

عندما تتعمق قليلاً في القوائم، سيكون من السهل عليك رؤية أن جميع الإعدادات التي قد تحتاجها لتغيير الميزات هي تحت تصرفك، ولكن Symantec قامت بعمل رائع في توفير ملخص عام عن صحة النظام في القائمة الرئيسية.
وعلى سبيل المثال، يؤدي النقر على زر المزيد إلى عرض بعض الميزات الأكثر تقدماً، بما في ذلك منطقة الإعدادات المتقدمة، ومربع اختيار الفحص، وأداة التحديث المباشر. وأعتقد أيضاً أن الرسم البياني للأداء - الذي يسمح لك برؤية موارد النظام التي يستهلكها البرنامج بوضوح - يعد إضافة رائعة.

مؤلف نصوص إعلانية حول الأمن السيبراني والتكنولوجيا المالية والعملات المشفرة لا حاجة للتخمين بعد الآن. بحيث يظهر الرسم البياني لأداء النظام استخدام التطبيقات والبرامج بشكل واضح.

مؤلف نصوص إعلانية حول الأمن السيبراني والتكنولوجيا المالية والعملات المشفرة

يقوم برنامج Norton Download Manager بتثبيت البرنامج بأكمله والمكونات بلمسة زر واحدة.

عملية التثبيت سريعة وسهلة أيضاً، وبالنسبة لمستخدمي ويندوز، يتم إعداد كل مكون من مكونات النظام، بما فيهم إضافة غوغل كروم، بعدة نقرات فقط.

الدعم

خصصت Norton موقعاً صغيراً بأكمله لتوفير موارد الدعم التي يمكن للمستخدمين التنقل ضمنها لاستخدام النظام. وهو تقريباً أكثر قاعدة معلومات إرشادية شاملة اطلعت عليها لحد الآن.

تعد مكتبة التعليم الفيديوية مثالية لحل المشكلات الشائعة دون مساعدة وكيل دعم العملاء ويمكنك حتى اختيار منتج Norton الذي تحتاج إلى مساعدة فيه لعرض الموارد ذات الصلة.

لكن ماذا عن الدعم المباشر؟ أولاً، توفر الشركة دعماً مباشراً على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع ويمكن للموظفين المختصين التشخيص والمساعدة عن بعد لحل مشكلات العملاء. وبمجرد بدء جلسة محادثة، يتم تعيين رقم حالة، مما يجعل الأمر أسهل لمتابعة طلبك عبر قنوات الدعم المتعددة. وبمجرد أن بدأت الدردشة، تم ايصالي بموظف مختص خلال ثانية واحدة! وفي الحقيقية عندما تقول نورتون أنها تقدم الدعم الفوري، فإنها لا تكذب!

لقد تحدثت إلى موظف يدعى ماناس وكان قادراً على إرشادي للقيام بالتثبيت. وإذا أردت مواصلة التحدث مع موظفيهم على موقع تواصل اجتماعي مثل Facebook و Twitter، لكان ذلك ممكناً أيضاً. وكل ما سأحتاجه هو رقم حالتي للمتابعة حيث توقفت في نافذة الدردشة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تقدم نورتون أيضاً الدعم عبر الهاتف وأحب حقيقة أنها توفر أرقاماً محلية بغض النظر عن مكان وجودك في العالم. ويمكن أيضاً الوصول إلى فريق العمل على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع، لذلك إذا كنت عميلاً يمثل شركة، لا داعي للقلق من عدم تمكن فريق دعم مكافحات الفيروسات لدى Norton من مساعدتك لحل مشكلتك في أي وقت كان.

التسعير

جميع الحزمات الثلاثة لبرنامج نورتون للأمن (Standard و Deluxe و Premium) مجهزة بشكلٍ مثالي برأيي. وفي حين توفر Deluxe مستويين من التسعير (لـ 3 أو 5 أجهزة)، فإن Premium يوفر لك اشتراك بما يصل إلى 10 حواسيب، والتي هي أكثر من كافية لحماية أسرة نموذجية. أي المستويات الثلاثة أوصي بها؟ شخصياً، أفضل اشتراك بريميوم. فعلى الرغم من أن جميع حزم نورتون رائعة لمكافحة الفيروسات، إلا أنه من الأفضل أن تستفيد من مجموعة الميزات الكاملة مهما كان الخيار الذي تختاره.

الخطط

في حين تتميز جميع الحزم بحماية قوية من نورتون ضد الفيروسات وبرامج التجسس ورانسوم واير وهجمات يوم الصفر، إن Deluxe و Premium يمتلكان لوحة تحكم على الويب رائعة لإدارة الأجهزة بسهولة، وتتضمن أداة الحزمة بريميوم المراقبة الأبوية والنسخ الاحتياطي التلقائي إلى سحابة تخزين مزودة بسعة تخزين 25 غيغابايت.

Norton AntiVirus Basic Norton Security Standard Norton Security Deluxe Norton Security Premium

منتجات وأسعار Norton

Norton AntiVirus Basic
Norton Security Standard
Norton Security Deluxe
Norton Security Premium
نظام التشغيل
Defends against ransomware, viruses, spyware, malware and other online threats
Advanced security helps protect your private and financial information when you go online
Utilizes one of the largest global civilian intelligence networks to spot threats faster
Helps protect your home network with a smart firewall
Comes with always-there customer support provided by Norton experts
Includes our 100% guarantee: From the moment you subscribe, a Norton expert will help keep your device(s) virus-free or give you a refund2
Secures multiple PCs, Macs, smartphones and tablets with a single subscription
Helps you manage protection for all your devices with an easy-to-use Web portal
Includes premium family safety features so your kids can explore their connected world safely‡
Automatically backs up your photos, financial files and other important documents of your choice on your Windows PC
Includes 25 GB of secure cloud storage for your PC with the option to add more as your needs change
نسخة تجريبية
السعر US$ 49,99 US$ 69,99 US$ 89,99 US$ 109,99
اقرأ المزيد اقرأ المزيد اقرأ المزيد اقرأ المزيد

النتيجة

اريك سي
اريك سيمؤلف نصوص إعلانية حول الأمن السيبراني والتكنولوجيا المالية والعملات المشفرة

يواصل نورتون المقدم من سيمانتك - الذي يمكن القول عنه أنه أقوى منافس في عالم مكافحة الفيروسات - إنتاج منتجات تجلب حماية استثنائية من الحماية الأمنية إلى السوق الاستهلاكية. ولن أتردد في التوصية بنورتون لأي مستخدم يسعى إلى الحصول علىأفضل مكافح فيروسات في السوق.

تحقق من أفضل ({n}} برامج مكافحة فيروسات بديلة

مراجعات المستخدم لـ Norton

81 13
بناءً على 94 مراجعة بـ 24 لغات 4.4
Language
ثقة مستخدمينا هي أولويتنا الأسمى! لذا لن تتمكن شركات مكافحة الفيروسات من الدفع لنا لتغيير أو حذف المراجعات.
12‏/03‏/2019
أنا أوصي به.
المستخدم Windows
إنه ممتاز لأي جهاز كمبيوتر لأنه يقتل كل الملفات المخفية والتي تبطئ جهاز الكمبيوتر. لذلك أنا أوصي به.

--
تمت ترجمة هذه المراجعة من موقعنا المكتوب باللغة الإنجليزية لأجل تسهيل القراءة على زوارنا الناطقين باللغة العربية
01‏/02‏/2019
لم أشعر بخيبة الأمل أبداً
المستخدم Windows
إنني أستخدم نورتون منذ سنوات طويلة كمكافح فيروسات، ولم يخيب ظني به مطلقاً. وفي الحقيقة أسعار الشركة مرتفعة، ولكنني لم أواجه مشاكل مع تعدد أجهزة الكمبيوتر. وعندما أجدد اشتراكي مع Norton كل عام، توفر الشركة خيارات متعددة لمكافحة الف...أظهر المزيد
31‏/01‏/2019
ليست جيدة كما تظن
المستخدم Windows
للأسف، هذا البرنامج لا يزيل كل الفيروسات.

--
تمت ترجمة هذه المراجعة من موقعنا المكتوب باللغة الإنجليزية لأجل تسهيل القراءة على زوارنا الناطقين باللغة العربية
29‏/01‏/2019
احترس من الرسوم التلقائية
المستخدم Windows
اخترت نورتون لجودته وكفاءته. فهو يقدم قيمة جيدة مقابل المال المنفق عليه للسنة الأولى ولكن يجب الانتباه إلى أن اشتراكك يتم تجديده تلقائياً في السنة الثانية. ومع ذلك، إذا كنت ترغب في إلغاء التجديد، بإمكانك فعل ذلك بالتأكيد. وإلى جان...أظهر المزيد
22‏/01‏/2019
Carlos
Carlos
United States
5.0
ينصح به بشده
المستخدم Windows
نورتون هو برنامج ممتاز لمكافحة الفيروسات. كما أنه برنامج كامل يساعد على حماية جهاز الكمبيوتر من الأذى.

--
تمت ترجمة هذه المراجعة من موقعنا المكتوب باللغة الإنجليزية لأجل تسهيل القراءة على زوارنا الناطقين باللغة العربية

Norton Antivirus Reviews 2018

Eric C.
Eric C.Copywriter, tech writer
Our Verdict:

Symantec's Norton is a veritable grandfather of the antivirus world, but it continues to deserve its position at top-of-market. Norton Security leverages the power of the company’s own customers to defeat zero-day attacks and its customer support and usability are both outstanding.

Write Review on Norton

0.0/ 5.0

Please enter your email address to submit your review

Norton User Reviews

9 1
Based on 10 reviews in 2 languages 5.0
Our users' trust is our #1 priority! Antivirus companies won't be able to pay to change or delete reviews.
Nov. 12, 2018 NEW
Daniel
Daniel
Israel
4.5
I loves me some Norton
Linux User
Norton is a truly delightful product to use. I got it installed in just a few minutes and it tells me that it's quarantined a different virus every few weeks. Certainly something I would recommend.
Nov. 8, 2018 NEW
You get what you pay for
Windows User
I've been using Norton for years and years as an anti-virus and I've never been disappointed. The prices are high, but I have never had problems with my different computers. When I renew my Norton subscription every year, I have the choice of several anti-virus options.
Nov. 8, 2018 NEW
Richie
Richie
United Arab Emirates
5.0
Norton is the best as always
Windows User
I am very satisfied with this anti-virus. It offers good protection on all types of devices (PC/tablets/smartphone). The price/quality ratio is huge, especially since there are regular promotions. The website is clear and easy to navigate. I highly recommend it.
Nov. 6, 2018 NEW
Sandra
Sandra
Canada
5.0
Nothing but Norton
Windows User
Norton is the best there is in modern antivirus and antispam.
Nov. 4, 2018 NEW
Michael
Michael
India
4.5
Watch out for automatic charges
Windows User
I chose Norton for its quality and efficiency. It has good value for the money for the first year but be aware that your subscription is renewed automatically the second year. That being said, if you want to cancel the renewal, you can. Otherwise this is a very good anti-virus.
Nov. 4, 2018 NEW
Dylan
Dylan
United States
5.0
Can't love Norton enough
Windows User
Norton is a very good anti-virus with which everything can be managed. The value is very good, it protects my computer from any virus, and it is very easy to understand and use. In addition, with the promo, the program cost me half price.
Nov. 4, 2018 NEW
Christian
Christian
Switzerland
2.0
Not as good as you think
Windows User
Unfortunately, this antivirus does not remove all viruses.
Oct. 29, 2018 NEW
Carlos
Carlos
United States
5.0
Highly recommend
Windows User
Norton is an excellent antivirus. It’s a complete program that helps protect my PC from harm.
Oct. 15, 2018
David
David
Costa Rica
4.0
Norton is Good
Windows User
It is excellent for any PC because it eliminates all the files that are hidden and slow the computer down. I recommend it.

Detailed Expert Review

Eric C.
Eric C.Copywriter, tech writer

Norton’s collection of virus removal tools has become so well-known that, for many, they’re practically synonymous with antivirus software itself. For this review, I chose to put the three Norton Security products (Standard, Deluxe, and Premium) head-to-head in order to assess how well the tools have evolved since the last time I tried them out.

While they’re all capable tools, I most strongly recommend Norton Security Premium for its combination of internet security and cloud backup tools that can give you peace of mind that up to 10 PCs, Macs, smartphones, or tablets are fully protected against any threat that may come your way.

Security

Norton is one of the leaders in the game when it comes to maintaining an active and well-populated database of cybersecurity threats to test against—and it has been producing computer security solutions for more than thirty years. Some of the nicest features of the modern incarnation of its tools include the following:

Proactive Exploit Protection (PEP)

Norton’s PEP is a framework designed to protect Windows computers against “zero-day” attacks. These attacks target vulnerabilities in Windows programs—as well as the operating system itself—that have yet to be patched, making them particularly fertile ground for hackers.

Given that zero-day attacks can take as long as five days for security experts to patch, I can’t emphasize enough how crucial it is to be running a system that can keep one step ahead of the game. I particularly like the fact that PEP begins to provide protection the moment that vulnerable software is deployed (rather than when a successful exploit has been identified in the cloud system). This puts it squarely ahead of many competitors that I have tested.

SONAR Protection

Adding to Norton’s comprehensive “zero-day” protection is the SONAR feature.

SONAR keeps a close eye on programs running in your system and identifies clues that they may be malicious—again, before definitions have even been formally created to categorize the offending program as a virus.

I particularly appreciated the fact that the application will automatically send a system prompt if it has been disabled for a certain amount of time. Accidentally disabling necessary protective measures is an easy way to not take advantage of your software’s built-in protection, and I’m glad to see that Norton is helping users make the most of its tool.

Symantec Norton Virus Removal Assurance

When it comes to antivirus software, vendors certainly aren’t shy about talking up their products’ features. That’s why it’s particularly refreshing to see a company that’s willing to put its money where its mouth is!

Norton includes its Virus Removal Assurance on all levels of its Norton Security product. As the name suggests, the company will offer you a full refund, with no questions asked, if your system becomes compromised by a virus while running Norton. Just pay attention to the small print: to be eligible for the scheme, you need to purchase, renew, or upgrade your Norton product directly from Symantec and not from a third-party vendor.

This is a guarantee I can readily get on board with: Norton secures both your computer and your wallet!

Smart Two-Way Firewall

Norton Security includes a two-way silent firewall. I found this to function extremely well and it’s important that a firewall prevent both inbound traffic as well as unauthorized outbound traffic from your local network—and Norton does a very capable job protecting against both. Besides being innocuous traffic generated from your web browsing, outbound traffic from your network can actually be generated by malware and rootkits that nest in your machine and then send potentially embarrassing spam to your contacts.  If you’ve ever had the humiliating experience of sending spam mail promoting vice products to thousands of your professional contacts, you’ll know that preventing this situation is something you’ll want to make a priority.

Features

On the internet security and backup side, Norton also comes with plenty of fire-power:

Crowdsourced Download Protection with Insight

Norton products are trusted by users around the world to protect their machines. The company has developed a technology called “Insight” which leverages the collective experience of millions of users to help protect others in the network.

Through knowing which files are known to be safe, Norton is able to speed up the scanning process by only analyzing those files which the system deems to be questionable.

I love the way in which Norton has chosen to crowdsource the process of identifying viruses, and the Insight download protection and file scanning features are just one of the ways in which it has chosen to apply this concept.

Stay Always Up to Date with Automatic LiveUpdate

Updating antivirus programs—or any software for that matter—can be a chore which many of us quickly become negligent about.

Norton Security features an Automatic LiveUpdate tool which ensures that users are always running the latest version of the program. Wisely, Norton has chosen to enable this feature by default on its products.

I happened to be working on my desktop when the automatic update process began, and I was impressed by how smoothly everything went. After quietly downloading and applying the new virus definitions, the program even cleaned up the old files right out of the temporary files directory which the program uses.

Keep Your Kids Away from Inappropriate Content with Norton Family

The Norton Security Premium package also includes subscriptions to Norton Family, the company’s award-winning parental control software.

Although the parental control software market includes several companies that specialize in producing only that, Norton’s tool is considered one of the best on the market.

Besides including filtering tools to prevent family members from accessing certain categories of websites, or those that are added to a blacklist, administrators are also able to limit users’ time on the internet and set schedules according to when they will be allowed to surf.

Parents are also able to set up email alerts to warn them when their children have attempted to access banned websites as well as a social network supervision features to make sure that children are not spending excessive amounts of time on social networking sites such as Facebook. I think that including a parental control tool within a computer security package is a brilliant idea: not only can users rest assured that their computers are protected from online threats, they can also make sure that their young loved ones are not exposed to inappropriate websites.

Norton Automatic Backup

Norton Security also includes an automatic backup tool which will automatically back up files to a secure, encrypted cloud storage system when the computer is idle.

While the program will automatically detect some files to backup based on pattern recognition, users are also able to select their own files and folders—a feature which I found very helpful.

The backup cloud storage is limited to 25GB. While this might not be enough to store an elaborate library full of HD movies, it’s more than enough to store critical documents as well as important parts of your system.

Although I maintain that if you have critical data that you cannot afford to lose a dedicated backup tool is still your best choice, the inclusion of a well-designed and customizable backup utility within Norton Security is to be commended.

Block Junk Mail with Spam Blocking

I’ve already mentioned how the Norton two-way firewall prevents rootkits and other embedded viruses from sending unsolicited mail from your system.

Norton has the other side of the equation covered too.

Its spam blocking feature will automatically detect and flag incoming junk messages to your desktop email clients. The program also warns users about attachments that could contain viruses as well as fraudulent phishing scams that are designed to steal your identity.

Although the majority of modern computer users access email through webmail programs like Gmail, a sizable proportion of the population still use programs like Microsoft Outlook and Mozilla Thunderbird to exchange email with the world. For that reason, it’s an important feature that hasn’t lost its relevance and I’m glad to see that Norton is still putting effort into maintaining it.

Ease of Use

Norton Security boasts a slick and well-designed user interface that makes navigating among its menus an intuitive and pleasant experience.

Norton Premium, for instance, sports a dashboard with five columns (security, identity, backup, performance, plus an upselling tab) and users can see at a glance the status of the software’s various components.

I hadn’t gotten around to setting up the backup functionality after setting the program up, for example, and it didn’t take long for me to spot—and feel slightly annoyed by—the “not set up” label written clearly underneath the cloud symbol.

Once you delve a little deeper into the menus, however, it’s easy to see that all the settings you might need to change features are at your disposal, but Symantec has done a great job at presenting a bird’s eye view of system health in the main menu. Clicking on the “more” button, for instance, undocks some more in-depth features, including an advanced settings area, a scan selection dialog box, and the live updater. I also thought that the performance graph—which allows you to clearly see how many system resources the program is consuming—was a great addition.

No more guesswork. The system performance graph clearly charts system and application usage.

 

The Norton Download Manager installs the whole program, and components, at the touch of a button.

The installation process is also quick and easy—and for Windows users, every component of the system, including the Google Chrome extension, gets set up within a couple of clicks.

Support

Norton has devoted an entire micro-site to providing support resources that users can navigate through to become familiar with using the system. And it’s just about the most comprehensive knowledge base that I have come across.

The video tutorial library is perfect for resolving common issues without the help of a customer support agent and you can even choose the Norton product you need help with to only display the resources that are relevant to your antivirus conundrum.

But how about human-to-human support? Firstly, there is 24/7 live chat support and agents are able to remotely diagnose and assist with customer issues. As soon as you initiate a chat session, you’re assigned a case number, which makes it easy to follow up on your query across multiple support channels.  Once I had that, I was connected to an agent in—literally—an instant: when Norton says they offer support without any wait time, they don’t lie!

I spoke to an agent called Manas who was able to guide me through the installation process. And if I wanted to continue to talk to their agents on a social channel such as Facebook and Twitter, it would have been possible. All I would have needed was my case number to continue where I left off in the chat window. Norton also offers phone support and I love the fact that they offer local numbers no matter where in the world you are located.

 

 

 

The business team can also be reached 24/7, so if you’re an enterprise customer you have no reason to worry that Norton’s team of antivirus support won’t be able to help you with your issue at any time, night or day.

Pricing

All three levels of the Norton Security package (Standard, Deluxe, and Premium) are packaged fairly, in my opinion. While Deluxe offers two levels of pricing (for 3 or 5 devices), Premium gets you all the way up to 10, which should be more than enough protection for the average family. Which of the three levels do I recommend? Personally, I would shell out for the Premium subscription. Although it’s hard to go wrong with any Norton antivirus tool, it’s best to take advantage of the full breadth of features that they have to offer.

Plans

While all service levels feature Norton’s core antivirus protection against viruses, spyware, ransomware, and zero-day threats, Deluxe and Premium have a nice web control panel to easily manage devices and the Premium tool includes parental control and automatic backups to a cloud storage area with 25GB of storage.

Norton AntiVirus Basic Norton Security Standard Norton Security Deluxe Norton Security Premium

Norton Products & Pricing

Norton AntiVirus Basic Norton Security Standard Norton Security Deluxe Norton Security Premium
Operational System
Defends against ransomware, viruses, spyware, malware and other online threats
Advanced security helps protect your private and financial information when you go online
Utilizes one of the largest global civilian intelligence networks to spot threats faster
Helps protect your home network with a smart firewall
Comes with always-there customer support provided by Norton experts
Includes our 100% guarantee: From the moment you subscribe, a Norton expert will help keep your device(s) virus-free or give you a refund2
Secures multiple PCs, Macs, smartphones and tablets with a single subscription
Helps you manage protection for all your devices with an easy-to-use Web portal
Includes premium family safety features so your kids can explore their connected world safely‡
Automatically backs up your photos, financial files and other important documents of your choice on your Windows PC
Includes 25 GB of secure cloud storage for your PC with the option to add more as your needs change
Trial
Price $49.99 $69.99 $89.99 $109.99
Read More Read More Read More Read More

Bottom Line

Eric C.
Eric C.Copywriter, tech writer

Norton by Symantec, arguably the most established player in the antivirus world, continues to roll out products that bring truly exceptional cyber security protection to the consumer market. I would not hesitate to recommend the tool to any consumer seeking an all-around performer in the antivirus software market.

Check the top 3 alternative antiviruses