专业测评
所有权
联盟营销分佣
测评守则

2021年5大做种专用VPN(安全、快速、隐身)

埃里克·戈尔茨坦 埃里克·戈尔茨坦 2021年5大做种专用VPN(安全、快速、隐身)

没时间做功课?这里是做种最佳VPN:

  • 🥇 ExpressVPN优秀的安全保护、速度快、数千台P2P专用服务器、严格的无日志政策(经过审核和证实),支持5个同时连接。

获取今日最佳优惠l ():没时间做功课?这里是做种最佳VPN:


为了找到适合做种的VPN,我测试了所有优秀的虚拟专用网络服务(VPN)。

不是所有VPN都能很好地支持做种——有些VPN的P2P服务器数量有限,有些VPN所在国家不允许做种,还有些会记录用户数据,将其卖给广告商。

但也有几款非常适合做种时候用的VPN。我选择的这几款都拥有大量的P2P友好服务器。它们也不会生成用户活动日志,拥有高级安全功能可以实现更安全、更快速地种子文件共享,还能支持热门地做种客户端(BitTorrent、uTorrent、Vuze等),经过数周的测试,最终有5款脱颖而出。

请注意:无论是我还是SafetyDetectives的任何人都不纵容大家做任何违法的事情。请咨询当地的规则和条例,以确保你了解与你的管辖范围有关的法律。

2021年做种最佳VPN概览:

2021年最佳做种专用VPN考察维度:

  • P2P友好的政策。列表中的这些VPN,要么是每台服务器都支持做种,要么是提供做种专用服务器。虽然部分VPN所在的国家法律禁止做种,但是所有VPN都支持P2P文件共享。
  • 超强的安全保护。这些VPN都使用行业标准的AES 256位加密,提供高安全性的协议,如OpenVPN、WireGuard、IKEv2,还具有基本的安全功能,如共享IP地址和kill switch。而且所有VPN都有严格的无日志政策。
  • 速度快。一个好的做种专用VPN需要有针对做种进行优化的服务器,在用户下载和上传大文件时保持较快的速度。本表中的VPN没有明显降低我的连接速度,即使连接到较远的服务器时也是如此。所有VPN的附近P2P服务器都没有使我的下载或上传速度下降超过20%。
  • 综合性价比。我还考虑了每款VPN的附加功能、同时连接数量、价格(有无免费订阅)。这里的VPN包括做种所需的功能,如隧道分离和P2P专用服务器,允许至少5个台设备同时连接,价格合理,并有无风险退款保证。

知名但未上榜产品:

  • Avast SecureLine VPN。Avast最近被指控出售从其免费杀毒产品(不是其VPN)中获得的用户数据,因此我们决定将其产品从名单中剔除。点击了解它的黑历史和我们的立场。
  • Hola VPN。Hola是一款免费的VPN,它通过其用户路由流量,即给你分配别人的IP地址,而别人却得到你的IP地址。这意味着有人可以利用你的IP地址从事各种可疑或犯罪活动,从而使你处于危险之中。更重要的是,Hola VPN阻止所有BitTorrent流量,这不利于做种。
  • BolehVPN。BolehVPN有强大的安全性,良好的速度,并支持做种。但是它的隐私政策说,如果公司发现可疑的(非法)活动,或者收到有关骚扰或垃圾邮件的投诉,可以暂时打开日志。出于这个原因,我不推荐用户将它用于任何可能“有法律争议”的活动(比如做种)。

🥇1. ExpressVPN——最佳做种VPN

🥇1. <a href="https://zh.safetydetectives.com/go/vendor/1460/?post_id=42261&alooma_btn_name=PPC+Affiliate+Link+-+883788" title="ExpressVPN" rel="sponsored noopener norefferer" target="_blank" data-btn-name="PPC Affiliate Link - 883788" data-btn-indexed="1"><hdiv class="adminHighlightLinks">ExpressVPN</hdiv></a>——最佳做种VPN

ExpressVPN 拥有很多其他VPN无法匹敌的高级隐私保护功能,所以很适合用于做种活动,但它的用户界面暂无中文版本。 丰富的功能提高了安全性,可支持用户自定义,确保所有P2P流量的快速有效传输以及私密保护。

在安全方面,ExpressVPN拥有核心功能,如:

  • AES 256位加密
  • 无日志政策
  • kill switch

ExpressVPN也有一些出众的功能:

  • 隧道分离(split tunneling) — 用户可以选择哪些流量通过VPN路由,哪些流量通过常规服务器路由。特别适用于既想保证安全下载种子文件,又想保持高速串流的时候。
  • 完全前向保密 — 提供一个加密密钥,即使ExpressVPN的服务器被入侵,也无人能够获取你传输的数据。
  • 无限带宽— 不设置任何带宽限制,可自由下载或上传数据。

ExpressVPN是本表中最快的VPN。测试ExpressVPN的“Smart Location(智能定位)”功能(快速连接到最快的服务器)时,我的平均下载速度只下降了1%,平均上传速度只下降了3%。当我手动连接到海外服务器时,整体速度只下降了28%(而大多数竞争对手的速度下降了约50%)。

此外,ExpressVPN没有任何做种限制。列表上有些产品只允许在专门的P2P服务器上进行做种,而ExpressVPN所有服务器都支持做种(它在90多个国家有3000台服务器,包括中国台湾、香港和澳门)。ExpressVPN已经经过第三方独立审计和多次验证,确定其保持严格的隐私和安全协议。因为它的总部设在英属维尔京群岛,那里有良好数据隐私法,所以它不用因为法律要求记录用户数据。

ExpressVPN支持最多5台设备,接受多种付款方式(包括PayPal和比特币),有30天退款保证来保障用户权益。

总结

ExpressVPN是一款对做种很友好的VPN,它有无数台做种专用服务器和隧道分离等做种友好功能。它还提供附加功能,帮助提升用户隐私保护的国际,确保一个高质量的VPN体验。ExpressVPN也是本表中最快的VPN,它不储存用户数据,支持5台设备同时连接。你可以通过它的30天退款保证试用看看。

立即下载ExpressVPN

阅读ExpressVPN完整测评 >

🥈2. ProtonVPN——最全能的做种专用VPN

🥈2. <a href="https://zh.safetydetectives.com/go/vendor/71018/?post_id=42261&alooma_btn_name=PPC+Affiliate+Link+-+883793" title="ProtonVPN" rel="sponsored noopener norefferer" target="_blank" data-btn-name="PPC Affiliate Link - 883793" data-btn-indexed="1"><hdiv class="adminHighlightLinks">ProtonVPN</hdiv></a>——最全能的做种专用VPN

ProtonVPN 是一款高度安全的VPN,比市面上大部分产品的速度都要快,拥有至少175台P2P专用服务器。虽然ProtonVPN在55个国家(包括中国台湾和香港地区)部署了约1200台服务器,但它官方声明只有P2P专用服务器支持做种。这些服务器分布在12个国家(包括德国、中国香港、新加坡和美国),都经过专门的优化,可以在大型文件传输过程中提供快速、安全的网络连接。需要注意的是,ProtonVPN的免费版不支持做种,只有3个付费版本支持。

ProtonVPN有如下标准安全功能:

  • 无日志政策.
  • AES 256位加密
  • Kill switch
  • DNS泄露保护

ProtonVPN的总部位于瑞士,那里没有强制要求保留数据的相关法律。而且瑞士也不属于十四眼联盟,这个联盟由14个国家组成,他们收集数据并共享情报信息。

ProtonVPN会根据你所在的位置,给你推荐最好的P2P服务器(距离最近、速度最快,负载最低),但你也自由选择。连上ProtonVPN推荐的P2P服务器后,我的连接速度平均下降了8%,很不错了。当我放弃它的推荐,随便选了一款其他国家的P2P服务器时,平均连接速度下降了30-35%,也还是可以的。

ProtonVPN是最容易使用的VPN之一,但它的界面还没有中文版本。它功能设置很直观,可以很容易地找到服务器可用的国家列表,并以绿点(低百分比)、黄点(中等)或红点(高)表示服务器负载。她还有Secure Core服务器等高级功能,即通过2个服务器路由你的数据,包括1个位于超安全位置的服务器。

ProtonVPN支持最多10台设备同时连接,兼容所有主流操作系统,接受加密货币等多种付款方式。按照订阅周期长短,最多可享受30退款保证,你可以无风险试用ProtonVPN。

总结

ProtonVPN是一款支持做种的全能型VPN。它的速度很快,当我连接到它推荐的P2P服务器时,连接速度只下降了8%,而且它很安全,有强大的加密功能,一个kill switch,以及严格的无日志政策。ProtonVPN支持最多10台设备同时连接,而且它有30天退款保证。

立即下载ProtonVPN

阅读ProtonVPN完整测评  >

🥉3. Private Internet Access——强大的隐私保护和较快的做种速度

🥉3. <a href="https://zh.safetydetectives.com/go/vendor/1119/?post_id=42261&alooma_btn_name=PPC+Affiliate+Link+-+883798" title="Private Internet Access" rel="sponsored noopener norefferer" target="_blank" data-btn-name="PPC Affiliate Link - 883798" data-btn-indexed="1"><hdiv class="adminHighlightLinks">Private Internet Access</hdiv></a>——强大的隐私保护和较快的做种速度

Private Internet Access (PIA)会自动将做种流量分配到其P2P专用服务器上。它在77个国家(包括中国香港),部署了35000台服务器,任意连接其中的一台,你将被重新路由到最相似且速度最快的P2P服务器。值得一提的是,PIA的用户界面支持中文。

我最喜欢PIA的一个地方是它支持端口转发。你可以将特定的数据直接传送到你的设备上,从而省去了路由器这一关,路由器上设置的保护措施可能会减慢你的网速。连接PIA服务器时,你的数据是加密的,IP地址是隐藏起来的,不会被窥视。端口转发可以提高你的网速,让你做种时的下载速度更快。

此外,PIA的速度相当快。我在每个国家随机测试了一台服务器时,我的网速平均只降低了35%,和ExpressVPNProtonVPN表现一样好。我非常喜欢的一点是,PIA显示每个服务器的ping指(数据从你的设备到VPN服务器所需的时间),这对快速加载网页很重要。

PIA的总部位于美国,美国是五眼、九眼、十四联盟的成员,不过PIA有无日志政策。也就是说,就算美国政府要求PIA上交用户数据,它也没有东西可交(这点已经在多次庭审中验证了)。PIA还有超强的加密技术、kill switch以及广告拦截器等隐私保护的核心功能。

Private Internet Access支持十台设备连接,接受加密货币(比特币、Bitpay、比特币现金、以太坊和莱特币)在内的多种付款方式。此外,它还有30天退款保证。

总结

在你使用Private Internet Access(PIA)的服务器之一进行做种时,它会自动将你路由到一个做种专用服务器。PIA拥有所有必要的安全功能,如AES 256位加密、kill switch以及一个无日志政策。而且PIA的速度很快,它支持端口转发,你也可以选择一个安全等级较低的加密方式,有多种VPN协议,并配有广告拦截器,这些让你的网速变得更快。你可以试用PIA,有30天退款保证,没有风险。

立即下载Private Internet Access 

阅读Private Internet Access完整评测 >

4. CyberGhost VPN——拥有直观的用户界面

4. <a href="https://zh.safetydetectives.com/go/vendor/1615/?post_id=42261&alooma_btn_name=PPC+Affiliate+Link+-+883803" title="CyberGhost" rel="sponsored noopener norefferer" target="_blank" data-btn-name="PPC Affiliate Link - 883803" data-btn-indexed="1"><hdiv class="adminHighlightLinks">CyberGhost VPN</hdiv></a>——拥有直观的用户界面

CyberGhost VPN是一款简洁、安全和易于使用的VPN。然而,CyberGhost只有大约80个P2P服务器,与其他顶级竞争对手相比,数量较少。

不过,我非常喜欢CyberGhost的界面,它可以显示连接到每个服务器的用户数量,以及每个服务器的用户负载总量。方便大家找到不过度拥挤的服务器(因为拥挤的服务器往往速度较慢)。唯一的缺点是目前没有中文版界面。

在我的测试中,CyberGhost表现良好。连上VPN后,我的平均连接速度降低了约35%,能够快速下载和分享种子文件,但本表上的其他软件速度更快,比如ExpressVPNProtonVPNPrivate Internet Access ,可能是因为他们拥有更多的做种专用服务器。

CyberGhost也拥有AES 256位加密、kill switch等功能,还有无日志政策,这些都是做种时必不可少的功能。(它会收集一些关于你使用的设备的元数据,但这些信息是不可识别的)。

CyberGhost支持最多7台设备使用VPN,它的总部位于罗马尼亚(没有强制性数据保留相关的法律),并且1、2、3年套餐都有45天退款保证来保障用户的权益。

总结

对于想要一款简单易用的VPN的做种爱好者来说,CyberGhost VPN是个好选择。它有大约80台做种专用服务器,支持多达7台设备同时连接,速度较好,但它不是最快的做种VPN(因为它支持做种的服务器比本单上的其他产品少得多)。你可以试用CyberGhost的1年、2年和3年计划,并享有45天退款保证。

立即下载CyberGhost VPN 

阅读CyberGhost VPN完整评测 >

5. IPVanish — Good Multi-User VPN (Unlimited Connections)良好的多用户VPN(无限连接

5. <a href="https://zh.safetydetectives.com/go/vendor/27918/?post_id=42261&alooma_btn_name=PPC+Affiliate+Link+-+883808" title="IPVanish" rel="sponsored noopener norefferer" target="_blank" data-btn-name="PPC Affiliate Link - 883808" data-btn-indexed="1"><hdiv class="adminHighlightLinks">IPVanish</hdiv></a> — Good Multi-User VPN (Unlimited Connections)良好的多用户VPN(无限连接

IPVanish是一款适用于较多用户的VPN。它是少数几个没有设备数量限制的VPN之一。IPVanish的界面也很直观,功能规划清晰,很适合人口较多且不太懂技术的大家庭用户。

IPVanish有1600多台服务器,全部都是P2P友好型设备,也是SOCKS5代理服务器(不加密浏览数据,进一步提升网速)。

测试IPVanish的时候,我的总体速度下降了大约30%,ExpressVPN 以及 ProtonVPN 不相上下。

Private Internet Access一样,IPVanish的总部设在美国,而且它们都不生成连接或使用日志。但与PIA不同的是,当IPVanish在法庭上测试其无日志政策时,IPVanish向当局提供了姓名、电子邮件地址和IP地址,当局从嫌疑人的ISP那里获得了犯罪活动信息。因此,尽管这对大多数人来说不是大问题(而且IPVanish说它不再记录这些信息),但把姓名、电子邮件和IP地址交给当局有时会透露很多信息。

IPVanish支持无限数量的连接,可以兼容所有设备和操作系统。它的年费订阅套餐还有30天退款保证。

总结

IPVanish支持无限数量的连接,并且应用界面简洁直观,方便操作,很适合有多个联网需求的大家庭。IPVanish很安全,有很多P2P服务器,速度相当快,而且非常容易使用。你可以亲自试用下IPVanish,它有30天的退款保证。

立即下载IPVanish 

阅读IPVanish完整评测 >

最佳做种专用VPN (2021年)——最终得分:

排名#ProviderOverall ScoreReview
1.阅读评论
10.0
阅读评论访问网站
2.阅读评论
9.9
阅读评论访问网站
3.阅读评论
9.7
阅读评论访问网站
4.阅读评论
9.4
阅读评论访问网站
5.阅读评论
8.9
阅读评论访问网站

哪个是做种最佳VPN?

ExpressVPN是2021年最佳做种VPN。它的速度很快,3000多台服务器都支持做种,采用AES 256位加密,还有一个kill switch。能够全面防止DNS泄露,并且它严格遵守无日志政策。

不过还有很多其他优秀的做种专用VPN 。ProtonVPN可以提供较好的匿名保护,Private Internet Access有强大的安全保护和较快的速度,CyberGhost的界面非常直观清晰,IPVanish支持无限设备同时连接。

在做种时使用VPN安全吗?

可以,只要你选用的是最好的做种专用VPN本表中的这些VPN都带有AES 256位加密、连接切断开关、无日志政策和IP欺骗、DNS泄露保护等安全功能。

不过,VPN挡不住种子文件中潜伏的恶意软件,所以,想要保护设备和数据安全,防止无意下载的恶意软件,你需要一个杀毒软件

ISP会不会看见我在下载种子文件?

不会。一个好的VPN会通过流量加密和掩盖用户的网络活动。这样一来,ISP、政府、省只是黑客都看不到你在网上做什么。不过,VPN商家是可以看到你的所有活动的。所以说要选择一款不保留用户日志的VPN服务(比如ExpressVPN,其无日志政策经过独立验证,安全且合法)。

适用于做种的最佳VPN也有额外的安全措施,如kill switch,在你的VPN连接被中断或被破坏时,它会中止你的互联网连接(或特定的应用程序)。

可以用免费VPN来做种吗?

可以是可以,但不建议这样做。免费的VPN是不用花钱,但会牺牲用户的隐私、安全甚至是带宽。最好是用一款付费VPN,能够保证强大的安全性能,提供无限带宽,以及无日志政策和做种专用服务器。

ExpressVPN是我最喜欢的做种专用VPN,它的功能可以全方位保证用户安全、快速做种,性价比很高。另外,它还有30天退款保证。

关于作者

关于作者

埃里克·戈尔茨坦是一名互联网安全研究员和技术领域的记者。他会介绍网络安全的最新趋势,帮助读者获得一个安全可靠的在线体验。业余时间,他喜欢健身,与家人在海滩上放松,和狗狗玩耍。

Professional Reviews
Ownership
Affiliate Commissions
Reviews Guidelines

5 Best VPNs for Torrenting in 2021 [Safe, Fast + Hidden]

Short on time? Here’s the best torrenting VPN:

  • 🥇 ExpressVPN: Excellent security and high speeds, with thousands of P2P (peer-to-peer) servers, a strict no-logs policy (independently audited and confirmed), and 5 simultaneous connections.

Get today’s top deal () at: Short on time? Here’s the best torrenting VPN:


I tested all of the top virtual private networks (VPNs) to find the best VPNs for torrenting.

Not all VPNs are good for torrenting — some have limited P2P servers, some are located in countries that don’t allow torrenting, and some log user data and sell it to advertisers.

But there are also some really good torrenting VPNs out there. The ones I’ve chosen for this list have tons of P2P-friendly servers, don’t keep records of user logs, have advanced security features for safer and faster file sharing, and work with all popular torrenting clients (BitTorrent, uTorrent, Vuze, etc.). After weeks of testing, these 5 stood out as the best of the best.

Please Note: Neither I nor anyone at SafetyDetectives condones doing anything illegal. Please consult with local rules and regulations to ensure you are aware of the law as it pertains to your jurisdiction.

Quick summary list of the best VPNs for torrenting in 2021:

How I Rated the Best VPNs for Torrenting in 2021:

  • P2P-friendly policy. All of the VPNs that made it to this list either allow torrenting on all of their servers or have dedicated P2P servers that are optimized for torrenting. While some VPNs exist in countries that consider torrenting illegal, all of the VPNs on this list actively support P2P file sharing.
  • Strong security. All of these VPNs use industry-standard 256-bit AES encryption, offer high-security protocols like OpenVPN, WireGuard, and/or IKEv2, and provide essential security features like shared IP addresses and a kill switch. And all of the VPNs listed here claim to keep strict no-logs policies.
  • Fast speeds. A good torrenting VPN needs to have servers optimized for maintaining fast speeds when downloading and uploading large files. The VPNs on this list didn’t significantly slow down my connection speeds, even when I was connected to distant servers. With all of the VPNs on the list, nearby P2P servers never dropped my download or upload speeds by more than 20%.
  • Overall value. I took into account extra features, the number of simultaneous connections, and the prices of each VPN (along with any free VPN subscriptions). The VPNs here include torrenting-specific features like split-tunneling and P2P-optimized servers, allow for at least 5 simultaneous connections, are affordable, and have risk-free money-back guarantees.

Top Brands That Didn’t Make the Cut:

  • Avast SecureLine VPN. Avast had recently been alleged to be selling user data gained from its free antivirus product (not its VPN), so we removed Avast products from our lists. You can read more about this scandal and our decision here.
  • Hola VPN. Hola is a free VPN that routes traffic through its users — it assigns you someone else’s IP address while someone else is given your IP address. This means someone can use your IP address to engage in all sorts of questionable or criminal activities, thereby potentially putting you at risk. More importantly, Hola VPN blocks all BitTorrent traffic, making it particularly not good for torrenting.
  • BolehVPN. BolehVPN has strong security, good speeds, and supports torrenting. But BolehVPN’s privacy policy says that the company can turn on logs temporarily if it notices suspicious (illegal) activity or if it receives a complaint regarding harassment or spam. So for that reason, I don’t recommend it for any kind of activities that might be considered “legally questionable” (like torrenting).

🥇1. ExpressVPN — Best VPN for Torrenting

🥇1. <a href="https://www.safetydetectives.com/go/vendor/1460/?post_id=42261&alooma_btn_name=PPC+Affiliate+Link+-+607884" title="ExpressVPN" rel="nofollow noopener" target="_blank" data-btn-name="PPC Affiliate Link - 607884" data-btn-indexed="1">ExpressVPN</a> — Best VPN for Torrenting

ExpressVPN has a lot of high-privacy features that most other VPNs don’t have, making it particularly good for torrenting. This versatility increases security, introduces a high level of user customization, and makes sure that all P2P traffic stays fast, functional, and private.

When it comes to security, ExpressVPN also has all of the essentials, including:

  • 256-bit AES encryption.
  • No-logs policy.
  • Connection kill switch.

ExpressVPN also has some standout features:

  • Split tunneling — Lets you choose which traffic you want to route through the VPN and which traffic you want to route through your normal server. This is particularly useful if you want to safely download torrents without slowing down streaming speeds.
  • Perfect forward secrecy — Serves an encryption key that helps make sure no one ever gets a hold of your transferred data, even if ExpressVPN’s servers were to get hacked.
  • Unlimited bandwidth — Sets no restrictions or limits on the amount of data you are allowed to download or upload.

ExpressVPN is the fastest VPN on this list. When I tested ExpressVPN’s “Smart Location” feature (the quick-connect option to the fastest server), my average download speed slowed down just 1% and my average upload speed slowed down only 3%. When I manually connected to an overseas server, my overall speed only dropped by 28% (compared to about 50% with most competitors).

In addition, ExpressVPN doesn’t impose any torrenting limitations on its users. Unlike others on this list that only allow torrenting on dedicated P2P servers, ExpressVPN supports torrenting on its entire network of servers (3,000 servers in 90+ countries). ExpressVPN has been independently audited and verified several times, and each time it was found to maintain strict privacy and security protocols. And because it’s based in the British Virgin Islands, a country with good data privacy laws in place, it’s able to legally maintain no user data logs.

ExpressVPN lets you connect up to 5 devices, supports a variety of payment options (including PayPal and Bitcoin), and comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Bottom Line:

ExpressVPN is a very torrent-friendly VPN, coming with torrenting-friendly features like unlimited torrenting servers and split tunneling. These extra features help increase user privacy and ensure a high-quality VPN experience. ExpressVPN is also the fastest VPN on this list, it doesn’t keep logs of user data, and it allows for 5 simultaneous connections on all devices. You can try it out with a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Download ExpressVPN Now

Read the full ExpressVPN review >

🥈2. ProtonVPN — Most Versatile Torrenting VPN

🥈2. <a href="https://www.safetydetectives.com/go/vendor/71018/?post_id=42261&alooma_btn_name=PPC+Affiliate+Link+-+607889" title="ProtonVPN" rel="nofollow noopener" target="_blank" data-btn-name="PPC Affiliate Link - 607889" data-btn-indexed="1">ProtonVPN</a> — Most Versatile Torrenting VPN

ProtonVPN is highly secure, faster than most VPNs on the market, and has 175+ optimized P2P servers. While ProtonVPN has around 1,200 servers located in 55 countries, it only “officially supports” torrenting on its dedicated P2P servers. These specialized servers are located in 12 countries (including Germany, Hong Kong, Singapore, and the US), and they are optimized to provide a fast and secure connection to safely download and upload large files. Take note that torrenting is only supported on ProtonVPN’s 3 premium plans — it’s not included on the free plan.

ProtonVPN has standard security features like:

  • No-logs policy.
  • 256-bit AES encryption.
  • Kill switch.
  • DNS leak protection.

ProtonVPN is located in Switzerland, which doesn’t have mandatory data retention laws, and it’s not a part of the 14 Eyes Alliances — a group of 14 countries that work together to collect and share intelligence data.

ProtonVPN recommends the best P2P server for your location (closest, fastest, and lowest load), but you also can choose to connect to any available P2P server around the world. When I connected to ProtonVPN’s recommended P2P servers, my connection speeds only slowed down by an average of 8% — which is great. When I ignored the recommendation and connected to a random P2P server in another country, my average speeds decreased to around 30-35% — which is still very good.

ProtonVPN is one of the easiest VPNs to use. It has intuitive features like an easy-to-find list of the countries where a server is available, and it indicates server load with either a green dot (low percentage), yellow dot (medium), or red dot (high). You also get advanced features like Secure Core servers — routing your data through 2 servers, including 1 in a hyper-secure location.

ProtonVPN allows for up to 10 simultaneous connections, is compatible with all major operating systems, and accepts payments in cryptocurrency. You can try out ProtonVPN risk-free with a pro-rated 30-day money-back guarantee.

Bottom Line:

ProtonVPN is an “all-around” good VPN for torrenting. It’s fast — decreasing my connection speeds by only 8% when I was connected to the recommended P2P server — and it’s secure — with strong encryption, a kill switch, and a strict no-logs policy. ProtonVPN lets you connect up to 10 devices at the same time, and it has a pro-rated 30-day money-back guarantee on all purchases.

Download ProtonVPN Now

Read the full ProtonVPN review >

🥉3. Private Internet Access — Strong Privacy Features + Fast Torrenting Speeds

🥉3. <a href="https://www.safetydetectives.com/go/vendor/1119/?post_id=42261&alooma_btn_name=PPC+Affiliate+Link+-+607894" title="Private Internet Access" rel="nofollow noopener" target="_blank" data-btn-name="PPC Affiliate Link - 607894" data-btn-indexed="1">Private Internet Access</a> — Strong Privacy Features + Fast Torrenting Speeds

Private Internet Access (PIA) automatically reroutes torrenting traffic to one of its P2P-optimized servers. When you connect to one of PIA’s 35,000+ servers located in 77 countries, you’ll be rerouted to the most similar and fastest P2P server available.

One of my favorite things about PIA is it supports port forwarding. This means you can route specific data directly to your device, bypassing safeguards set up by your router that may slowdown your internet speed — and since you’re connected to a PIA server, your data is encrypted and your IP address is hidden from prying eyes. Port forwarding can increase your internet speed and give you even faster download speeds for torrenting.

And PIA is pretty fast — when I tested a random server from each one of PIA’s 77 server countries, my internet speeds only slowed down by an average of 35%, which is just as good as ExpressVPN and ProtonVPN. One thing I really like is that PIA displays the ping (the time it takes for data to travel from your device to the VPN server) for each server, which is important for making web pages load quickly.

PIA is based in the United States, which is a member of the 5/9/14 Eyes Alliances, but it has a strict no-logs policy. This means that even if the US government asked PIA to hand over user data, there would be nothing to hand over (and this has been proven multiple times in court). PIA also includes other privacy essentials like strong encryption, a kill switch, and even an ad blocker.

Private Internet Access allows for 10 connections, accepts a wide range of payment options including cryptocurrencies (Bitcoin, Bitpay, Bitcoin Cash, Ethereum, and Litecoin), and is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Bottom Line:

Private Internet Access (PIA) automatically reroutes you to a torrenting-optimized server when you torrent through one of its 35,000+ servers. PIA includes all of the essential security features like 256-bit AES encryption, a kill switch, and a no-logs policy. And PIA is fast — it supports port forwarding, lets you choose a less-secure encryption method, has multiple VPN protocols, and comes with an ad blocker, all of which make internet speeds much faster. You can try PIA risk-free with a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Download Private Internet Access Now

Read the full Private Internet Access review >

4. CyberGhost VPN — Intuitive User Interface

4. <a href="https://www.safetydetectives.com/go/vendor/1615/?post_id=42261&alooma_btn_name=PPC+Affiliate+Link+-+607899" title="CyberGhost" rel="nofollow noopener" target="_blank" data-btn-name="PPC Affiliate Link - 607899" data-btn-indexed="1">CyberGhost VPN</a> — Intuitive User Interface

CyberGhost VPN is a simple, secure, and easy-to-use VPN — however, CyberGhost has only around 80 P2P servers, which is a relatively small number of servers when compared to other top competitors.

That said, I really like CyberGhost’s interface — it shows you the number of users connected to each server as well as the total amount of user load on each server. This makes it very easy to choose a server that’s not overcrowded (as crowded servers often have slower speeds).

During my tests, CyberGhost performed well, decreasing my average connection speeds by about 35% — I was always able to download and share torrents quickly, but the other programs on this list generally provided better speeds, most likely because competitors like ExpressVPN, ProtonVPN, and Private Internet Access all support a lot more torrenting servers.

CyberGhost also has all of the essential torrenting features, including 256-bit AES encryption, a kill switch, and a no-logs policy (although it does collect some non-identifiable metadata about the device you’re using).

CyberGhost lets you use the VPN on up to 7 devices, is located in Romania (which doesn’t have mandatory data retention laws), and is backed by a risk-free 45-day money-back guarantee for 1-, 2-, and 3-year plans.

Bottom Line:

CyberGhost VPN is a good choice for users looking for a simple and easy-to-use VPN to use for torrenting. It has around 80 torrenting servers, supports up to 7 connections at the same time, and provides decent speeds — but it’s not the fastest torrenting VPN out there ( because it has far fewer torrenting-supported servers than the others on this list). You can try out CyberGhost with a 45-day money-back guarantee for the 1-, 2-, and 3-year plans.

Download CyberGhost VPN Now

Read the full CyberGhost VPN review >

5. IPVanish — Good Multi-User VPN (Unlimited Connections)

5. <a href="https://www.safetydetectives.com/go/vendor/27918/?post_id=42261&alooma_btn_name=PPC+Affiliate+Link+-+607904" title="IPVanish" rel="nofollow noopener" target="_blank" data-btn-name="PPC Affiliate Link - 607904" data-btn-indexed="1">IPVanish</a> — Good Multi-User VPN (Unlimited Connections)

IPVanish is a good VPN for multiple users. It’s one of the few VPNs that doesn’t put a limit on the number of devices you can connect to at once. IPVanish’s interface is also really intuitive and well organized, making it a great option for large households with people who aren’t particularly tech-savvy.

IPVanish has 1,600+ servers, all of which are P2P-friendly, as well as SOCKS5 proxy servers (which provide faster speeds by not encrypting browsing data).

When I tested IPVanish, my overall speed decreased by around 30% — this is comparable to top competitors like ExpressVPN and ProtonVPN.

Like Private Internet Access, IPVanish is based in the United States, and also like PIA, IPVanish says it doesn’t keep connection or usage logs. But unlike PIA, when IPVanish had its no-logs policy tested in court, IPVanish provided authorities with a name, an email address, and an IP address, allowing authorities to get enough criminal activity from the suspect’s ISP. So while this isn’t particularly problematic for most people (and IPVanish says it doesn’t log this info anymore), a name, email, and IP address can sometimes be a lot of information to hand over to authorities.

IPVanish supports an unlimited number of connections, works with all devices and operating systems, and has a 30-day money-back guarantee on its yearly plan.

Bottom Line:

IPVanish supports an unlimited number of connections and features a simple, easy-to-use interface — this makes it a good VPN for large households with multiple users. IPVanish is secure, has a lot of P2P servers, maintains pretty fast speeds, and is very easy to use. You can test IPVanish with a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Download IPVanish Now

Read the full IPVanish review >

Best VPNs for Torrenting (2021) — Final Score:

Rank#ProviderOverall ScoreReview
1.Read Review
10.0
Read ReviewVisit Website
2.Read Review
9.9
Read ReviewVisit Website
3.Read Review
9.7
Read ReviewVisit Website
4.Read Review
9.4
Read ReviewVisit Website
5.Read Review
8.9
Read ReviewVisit Website

What’s the best VPN to torrent with?

ExpressVPN is the best torrenting VPN in 2021. It’s very fast, supports torrenting on all of its 3,000+ servers, uses unbreakable encryption (256-bit AES), has a kill switch, fully protects against DNS leaks, and maintains a strict no-logs policy.

But there are a lot of other excellent torrenting VPNs out there. ProtonVPN is great for maintaining anonymity, Private Internet Access has strong security and fast speeds, CyberGhost has a particularly intuitive interface, and IPVanish allows for unlimited simultaneous connections.

Is torrenting safe with a VPN?

Yes, as long as you choose one of the best torrenting VPNs. The ones on this list come with 256-bit AES encryption, a connection kill switch, no-logs policies, and other security features like IP spoofing and DNS leak protection.

However, a VPN can’t protect you against malware that gets downloaded in torrenting files — to keep your device and data safe from downloadable malware, you need an antivirus program.

Will my ISP see that I’m downloading torrents?

No. A good VPN masks your activity by encrypting all of your traffic — not even hackers, your ISP, or the government, will be able to see your online activity. However, your VPN provider will still be able to see all of your activity. That’s why it’s important to make sure you pick a VPN provider that does not keep user logs (like ExpressVPN, which has been independently verified to maintain a secure and legitimate no-logs policy).

The best VPNs for torrenting also have additional safety measures like a kill switch, which shuts down your internet connection (or specific apps) in case your VPN connection gets interrupted or compromised.

Can I use a free VPN to torrent?

You can, but you shouldn’t. Free VPNs may not cost money, but they’ll cost you your privacy, your security, and/or your bandwidth. It’s always better to torrent with a paid VPN that provides strong security, unlimited bandwidth, a no-logs policy, and a lot of torrenting-supported servers.

ExpressVPN is my favorite VPN for torrenting — it has all of the features you need to securely and quickly download torrents, and it provides a good value for the money. Plus, it has a risk-free 30-day money-back guarantee.

About the Author

Eric Goldstein
Eric Goldstein
Senior Editor

About the Author

Eric Goldstein is an internet security researcher and IT journalist. He provides updates on the latest trends in cybersecurity so readers can have a safe and secure online experience. In his spare time, he enjoys working out, relaxing on a beach with his family, and playing with his dog.